Skip to content

Cultured Electronic Music

November 6, 2013

Cover

Broken Drum Records is about to release a compilation of ten tracks, all of them remixes of tunes released by the label. Just for fun and because we thought the tunes could take some abuse. Some are old tunes, some are newer. The only reason I’m blogging about it at this stage is because we’re planning to release ten copies only on CDR first, followed by the download-only release.

I started releasing music in 1988, on cassette. I caught the tail end of the tape trader scene. Back then, musicians who worked outside the mainstream music industry built up an international network of magazines, fanzines, radio shows etc and traded or sold their music by post on cassette. There was a great sense of creativity and with everything being done by hand, it was great for innovative artwork and packaging as well as for genre defying music.

So, I had the idea of releasing our remix project on CDR. There will be ten copies only, on black vinyl-look CDs. They’ll be in DVD cases and there will be some postcard-sized artwork included. I may choose to include different artwork with each CD and I may include the buyer’s name in the text on the cover. The idea is to create a unique, limited, personalised piece of musical art. It’s a look back to the old tape scene days.

Once it’s been released and the ten CDRs sold for a small, very reasonable price, we’ll release the album on Bandcamp on a name-your-own-price basis, which can include free, as with all of our releases.

If there’s enough interest, we may follow up with further small-run collectors’ items.

Cultured Electronic Music - DVD insert

4 Comments leave one →
  1. VaJonnie permalink
    November 8, 2013 2:47 am

    So, how do you decide who gets a CD? Is it a first-come-first-served kinda deal? I would be absolutely thrilled if there was any chance of me ending up with a copy. I’ve been religiously following your music for the past two years and have introduced a great number of friends to your awesome sounds. I’ve even got my sister playing a few tracks when she teaches yoga classes. Also, my birthday’s coming up real soon, soooooo……;) Peace!

    • November 9, 2013 8:36 am

      Hi Vajonnie…thanks for your comment. I’ll save one for you. They’re all ready to go, we’re just waiting on some paper to arrive to print the covers.

      • VaJonnie permalink
        November 9, 2013 2:29 pm

        Awesome! Thank you so much. I’m assuming Paypal will work? I live in the U.S., so just let me know about any shipping costs and I’ll send you my address. Again, thanks a bunch! Much love!

      • Vince Millett permalink
        November 9, 2013 7:53 pm

        As soon as we’re ready to go, I’ll email you.

        thanks!

        Vince Secret Archives of the Vatican

Let us know what you think of this post. Thanks!

