Skip to content

Kutmah

September 17, 2011

As some of you will know, the Secret Archives of the Vatican empire started back at the tail end of the tape trader scene at the end of the 80s. We wrote a little about it in an earlier post HERE. One of the exciting aspects of that scene was the use of innovative marketing techniques, crazy ideas and truly counter-cultural ways of doing things.

Today I was in Rough Trade, one of our last remaining independent record shops, and found something that genuinely excited me. I can understand if you think ‘what’s so exciting about that?’ but it got my attention and it got me thinking.

Kutmah CDR

I found a CDR by Kutmah, famously deported from the US in 2010 and now residing here in his country of birth, England. He had been unable to get to a Japanese radio station for some reason and had instead recorded them an hour long mix containing, among other things, unreleased tracks by Flying Lotus, Gonjasufi and Madlib. The mostly non-existent packaging includes some stickers and the mix is on a silver CDR that has been beautifully hand illustrated. There are only 20 copies and it was on sale for £9.99.

I couldn’t afford it but bought it anyway. This is art! £9.99 for a CDR with crap packaging? It’s value is not based in the cheap CD or the scanty packaging but in the fact that it is unique and there is a human quality in this item that bridges the divide between modern digital music and a physical, hand-crafted form of presentation. It’s also a superb collection of musical creativity!

It got me thinking of maybe producing some very small run, special, unique Secret Archives releases that we’ll sell for cold, hard cash.

Only joking! Well, kind of….I love the idea so we’ll have a think about what we might do along those lines.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 17, 2011 3:28 am

    I am always amazed at the generosity of artists that give away their music and art, and SAoTV are no exception. However I think that sometimes the desire to be heard and to be counter to the established “system” can keep money from the pocket. There is nothing wrong (in my opinion) in making money from your music, I say go for it! Produce a few limited edition cd’s, some signed album artwork maybe even a dvd…. I’ll buy them for sure!

  2. September 21, 2011 10:11 am

    Vince – I have been telling you for years that your visual art is of value and you should sell it

Let us know what you think of this post. Thanks!

