Skip to content

Dubsahara

August 2, 2011

I just read a most intriguing post on the excellent Generation Bass blog and, if I’d found it anywhere else, I’d probably have ripped it off wholesale and pretended I’d found out all about it myself. The GenBass people are friends, so I won’t be that cheeky!

dubsahara : TRANSNATIONAL DUB.

dubsahara

dubsahara – The name has my attentional ready. Dubby, Eastern and Middle-Eastern vibes. Reminds me of someone…oh, yes! It’s us!

When I check out the dubsahara website, I find that it has some excellent sections on maqamat and Middle-Eastern rhythms. You may recall we’ve written about exactly such things in this blog before.

It’s great to read of someone also trying to share this knowledge and introduce the ideas to those outside the Arabian cultural tradition – while also making some fine tunes!

Camel Straw Syndrome

Persian Voice

Luxor-8

We’ll be keeping a close eye on dubsahara.

No comments yet

Let us know what you think of this post. Thanks!

