Skip to content

Twitter

February 12, 2009

Here in the Secret Archives we are slightly nonplussed about Twitter. Maybe I’m missing the point but I truly don’t care what my best friends had for breakfast, let alone mere acquaintances or semi-interesting strangers. I have no interest in what the weather is like outside your office. I do not care what your hilarious cat did yesterday.

There’s got to be more to it than that, I suspect. There must be – because it seems that venerable music inkie gossip rag, the NME, is getting all worked up about it:

http://www.nme.com/blog/index.php?blog=123&title=everybody_s_tweeting_how_to_get_the_most&more=1&c=1&tb=1&pb=1

Although the days are long gone when anyone gave a rat’s arse about the NME‘s opinion on anything, maybe they have seen the light.

How does a band make good use of Twitter? Any ideas?

7 Comments leave one →
  1. February 12, 2009 6:52 pm

    It’s interesting how we all seem to move from one social network to another. Myspace was the ubiquitous “must have” social network 3-4 years ago, and now it’s (imho) just a pain in the bum. We all still use it, but only because we feel we have to, not because we like it.

    Facebook was something I avoided like the plague, but have now got into the facebook rhythm and do tend to check it every day, if only to leave sarcastic remarks for friends or suggestions for recipes. Do I really need to do this? Probably not.

    last.fm is something that appears to be only use to me, if I use a scrobbler, which I’m currently still avoiding, but that may change. I can see it being far more useful for artists of course.

    twitter is my latest social network (http://twitter.com/petecogle), and only really because my buddies at the Association of Music Podcasting (AMP) suggested we have a twitter presence.

    So now the various podcast feeds from the (currenly) 48 AMP members gets aggregated at http://musicpodcasting.org (I happen to be the webmaster, btw) and then is fed, by twitterfeed into twitter at http://twitter.com/musicpodcasting.

    Apparently, some 3-4 days in, we have over 100 followers. OK, I imagine 40+ are the podcasters themselves, but not bad in less than a week. Will it improve our podcast downloads? I’ll get back to you next month and let you know.

    In the meantime setting up a SAotV twitter account and redirecting the feed from this blog, plus the podcast blog to it via twitterfeed may be just a few minutes effort and may bring dividends.

    Just a thought!

    TTFN

  2. February 12, 2009 7:06 pm

    Apparently, MySpace is still huge in the US and Facebook more so here in the UK.

    I’ll do the Secret Archives Twitter if I can figure out how to…..it’ll be one more thing to keep an eye on though….

  3. February 12, 2009 8:26 pm

    that’s the beauty of twitterfeed. Just set it up to post any RSS you want and it does the rest. So just post here, and magically it appears on twitter.

  4. February 12, 2009 9:38 pm

    How do you set it up to post an RSS?

  5. February 13, 2009 11:34 am

    create yourself a twitter account at twitter.com, then another account at twitterfeed.com, and give them the titter details. Then add your feeds at http://twitterfeed.com/feed and wait. Takes a while to get started, but then every post you make ends up on twitter.

  6. February 13, 2009 11:45 am

    I’m part way through doing that – getting the RSS feed set up on here seems to be the tricky bit – twitterfeed seems straightforward – and I was trying to do it at work so I’ll leave it now until I get home. Thanks, Pete.

  7. February 17, 2009 10:20 am

    Nice to see you’ve got this working at http://twitter.com/secretarchives

Let us know what you think of this post. Thanks!

